My Photo

Search google

  • Google

    WWW
    http://steelkitten.typepad.com/steel_kitten

Biography

I am a frugal money-saving critter trying to figure out what I'd like to do with my life. Obviously the career advice I had when I was a teenager was a load of bunkum as I keep turning 90 degrees and wandering off down a new pathway every few years. I have had lots of careers so far, starting as a PhD trained lab scientist 20 years ago and ending up a technical editor today. Now in my mid-40s, I'm on career number five and scouting the horizon for number six, which I strongly suspect will involve farming.

I live with my husband on a smallholding in Lincolnshire. We met online in a chatroom in April 2004, and Steel Kitten was my user name when I first started talking to him on the Internet and it's stuck. It's engraved on the inside of my wedding ring and every Valentine's Day a card to 'Steel Kitten' is left from 'Kartman' on the kitchen work surface.

I love my garden, especially growing my own fruit and veg, and the idea of self-sufficiency is enormously appealing. Until of course I have to get up at 5am every day and milk a cow and then the idea probably won't look so shiny after all. When I started this blog, it was a far off dream to find a smallholding where I could raise a few animals and Martin could fly his model planes from our own field. In July 2017, we achieved that dream through sheer frugality, thrift and hard bloody work.

Now we turn our attention to finding a way to retire early and enjoy more time together than our full-time jobs and side hustles currently allow.

Interests

knitting, charity (thrift) shops, growing my own fruit and veg, the 1940s and 1950s, crochet, patchwork, raiding libraries, book shops and car boot sales, WWII kitchens and gardens, reading (mostly non-fiction), self development, make do and mend, reduce, re-use, recycle, personal development, lifelong learning, organisation and planning, writing,